Posts

Twitter Chat & National Call

RiseUp! NQAPIA Week of Action on Immigration

Twitter Chat

Saturday, 4/18
4-5 p.m. EDT/1-2 p.m. PDT

 Twitter Chat

Join us for a twitter chat during our Week of Action on issues impacting LGBT AAPI immigrants & our allies, including profiling, detention, deportation, DACA/DAPA, the executive action, and more.

Tweet under #RiseUpNQAPIA to join in!

Contact communications@nqapia.org for more information.

National Call was on Monday, April 13th 

A mp3 of the recording will be available asap.

For information please email pabitra_benajamin@nqapia.org

Speakers included:

Kris Hayashi
Transgender Law Center (TLC)
Sarath Suong
Providence Youth Student Movement (PrYSM)
Sasha W.
National Queer Asian Pacific Islander Alliance (NQAPIA)

NQAPIA Immigration Update: From Buford Highway to the Beltway

This past weekend, participants at our Atlanta Regional Summit put their learnings into practice and engaged the immigration reform debate by calling on their friends and family to weigh in on legislation being considered in Washington, DC. At the Center for Pan Asian Community Services in the Buford Highway ethnic neighborhood, 20 phone bankers in an hour got 77 commitments to call members of Congress in the South in support of immigration reform.

Right now, 100 of our sisters and allies from the We Belong Together campaign are in Washington, DC fasting in solidarity with #Fast4Families to highlight the urgency in our communities and the urgency for reform that will keep our families together and break the broken immigration system. Every day that goes by brings us further past the two million deportations that have already happened in the past six years and makes reform that much more elusive.

Can you join our Summit participants and make a call to your member of Congress today and ask them to pass reform? The script is below.

We thank you for your continued support of the issues our communities care about.

In partnership,

Ben de Guzman, NQAPIA Co-Director for Programs

 

Phone Script

You can use the phone script below to call your member of Congress. If you have any questions, you can e-mail me.

Call 202-224-3121 and give the Capitol Hill Switchboard your address and they will identify your member of Congress and connect you directly to their Washington, DC office. If you know your member, you can also look them up online and get their direct number that way.

 
Congressional Staff Greeting: “Hi! Representative X’s office, how may I help you?”
 
Hi, my name is ___________ (your name) and I live in the Congressmember’s district. I’m calling to urge the Congressmember to support immigration reform that:
  • Includes a path to citizenship
  • Upholds civil and human rights
  • Keeps families together, and
  • Protects workers on all ends of the economic scale

I hope s/he will support the discharge petition that was recently introduced in the House. It is very important to me and my community that Congress votes on immigration reform this year.

Will the Congressmember support the discharge petition? 

[If supports]: Great! Thank you! I hope your boss will push for a vote on immigration on the floor as soon as possible.

[If no]: I am very disappointed and I hope the Congressmember will reconsider her/ his position. My family, friends and I will be voting in November and this issue is very important to us.

Thank you for your time.

Asian American Immigration Insider Call Features Ben de Guzman

Join us on the weekly Asian American Immigration Insider Call tomorrow!

As you may know, a group of national organizations have come together to create a coordinated Asian American immigration campaign through the National Council of Asian Pacific Americans to share information, coordinate events and amplify our community’s issues in the media. The weekly Asian American Immigration Insider call is organized by these eight organizations.

Read more

Dialing In: How to Get Involved in Comprehensive Immigration Reform

RSVP HERE:  http://www.facebook.com/events/602214103128769/

NQAPIA will be hosting a special Briefing, “Dialing In: How to Get Involved in Comprehensive Immigration Reform” on Wednesday, February 27.  We will be discussing the most recent updates on the national debate around comprehensive immigration reform and provide specific tools and resources on how you can get involved.

Can you join us?

 

NQAPIA Briefing- Dialing In: How to Get Involved in Comprehensive Immigration Reform

Wednesday, February 27

8:30 PM Eastern

7:30 PM Central

6:30 PM Mountain

5:30 PM Pacific

3:30 PM Hawai’i

Call-In:  712-432-3900 (access: 9156628#)

 

 

 

Let’s Get Engaged! Political and Civic Engagment for AAPI LGBT Communities

Join us for this opportunity to re-connect after the NQAPIA Conference and before the 2012 Presidential Election Season hits full stride. Learn more about what other communities are doing and how we can all get more engaged and more involved!

NQAPIA Quarterly Briefing:  Let’s Get Engaged!  Political and Civic Engagement for AAPI LGBT Communities

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

  • 6pm Eastern
  • 5pm Central
  • 4pm Mountain
  • 3pm Pacific
  • 1pm Hawai’i

Dial 712-432-3900 (access: 9156628#) to join the call.

Proposed Agenda:

  1. Welcome/ Introductions
  2. Local Updates:  Sharing Information about Local Activities
  3. NQAPIA Updates:  What’s Happening at NQAPIA HQ
  4. Issue Updates:  Catch the 411 on the Policies of Concern in Our Communities
  5. Next Briefing

RSVP on Facebook.